Posted in Baking, Desserts

Cadbury Egg Chocolate Cupcakes

About a month before Easter a dear friend of mine sent me this link Cadbury Egg Inside Chocolate Cupcakes. I was intregued. She wanted me to make them and after seeing the picture I heartily agreed. I didn’t look at the link any further, but I did pick up 12 Cadbury Eggs before Easter had passed.


This last weekend my friend took me on a wild ride through Trinity County. To thank her for a wonderful trip I decided to make these cupcakes.

This afternoon I looked again at this link and discovered that there is no recipe. After googling Cadbury Egg Chocolate Cupcakes I discovered several fun recipes, but none that I thought was what this link had been trying to convey. So I took matters into my own hands.

In the complete Magnolia Cookbook I found a Devil’s food chocolate cupcake recipe and a cream cheese frosting recipe. Then I just placed the Cadbury Eggs inside the batter of each cupcake. Here is my version.

Cadbury Egg Cupcakes 1

These are very sweet. I think that they are a bit too much. But here is the recipe.

Cupcakes

Cadbury Egg Cupcakes 3

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 1 cup unsweetened Dutch process cocoa
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 & 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 & 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Line three 12-cup muffin tins with cupcake papers, set aside
  • In a small bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, on medium speed of an electric mixer, cream the butter until smooth.
  • Add the sugars and beat until fluffy.
  • Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition
  • Add dry ingredients in three parts.
  • Alternating with the buttermilk and vanilla.
  • With each addition, beat until the ingredients are incorporated, but do not overbeat.
  • Using a rubber spatula, scrap down the batter in the bowl, making sure the ingredients are well blended
  • Carefully spoon the batter into the cupcake liners, filling them about three-quarters full.
  • Add Cadbury Eggs and spoon a little batter over the tops
  • Bake for 25 to 30 minutes
  • Let cool for 15 minutes.
  • Remove from tins and place on wire rack.
  • Frost.

Icing

Ingredients:

  • One 8-ounce package of cream cheese, softened
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 & 1/2 cups confectioners sugar

Directions:

  • In a large bowl, on the medium speed of an electric mixer, beat the cream cheese and cutter until smooth.
  • Add vanilla and beat well
  • Gradually add the sugar, 1 cup at a time
  • Beating continuously until smooth and creamy
  • Cover and refrigerate icing for 2 to 3 hours, until thickened.

Cadbury Egg Cupcakes 2

Shared with:

5 thoughts on “Cadbury Egg Chocolate Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

