Posted in Beef, Blog, Books, Holidays, Life, Lists, Main Dish, Mamasita, Recipes, Zoey

Twenty Fifteen and Cottage Pie

Zoey and I are cuddling on the couch trying to stay warm on this very cold New Years Eve.  I am watching Appendices #8 from The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey and contemplating the year that was and the year yet to come.

I feel like I slept through much of 2014.  I sat by and let things happen.  I existed but did not live life to its fullest.  I have many goals for the new year.  Though I am not sure if they are truly new years resolution.  I was asked by someone on Monday if I had any resolutions and I was struck by the fact that I had made none.  But I think it is time to make some.  Somethings need to be improved in the new year.  Mainly I need to focus on myself.  Doing things that make me happy, focusing on the good.

Goals for the new year!

  • Cook more
  • Blog more
  • Fix my recipe page
  • Say Yes to hanging out with people
  • Get out of the House other than going to work at least once a week.
  • Re-read
    • Silmarillian
    • The Hobbit
    • The Fellowship of the Ring
    • The Two Towers
    • The Return of the King
  • Read for fun at least 12 new books!
  • Exercise more
  • Knit more
  • Sew more
  • Take more photos
  • Save up for a new camera
  • Save up for a new sewing machine
  • Save up for a serger.

So we come to New Years Eve and here I am working on the first two goals.  Tonight I am blogging and cooking a Cottage Pie for our culinary enjoyment.

225

Cottage Pie

Ingredients:

    •  4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
    • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
    • 1 medium onion, diced

209

    • 1 medium carrots, chopped
    • 1 rib of celery, chopped
    • 1/2 pound of cremini mushrooms, diced

213

    • 2 cloves of garlic, minced

211

  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 can tomato paste (preferably organic)
  • 1 pound stewing beef (preferably grass fed), patted dry
  • 1/4 cup low sodium beef broth (preferably organic)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • ground black pepper
  • Mashed potatoes
    • 1 pound of red potatoes diced,  boiled in water until soft, drained, and mashed
    • 1 cup low sodium beef broth
    • A splash of whole organic milk
    • sprinkle of salt
    • Sprinkle of black pepper
    • dash of dried rosemary

    220

Directions:

    1. preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit
    2. Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in medium skillet on medium-high

210

    1. Brown beef and set aside, do not over crowd the pan

212

    1. Add remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil to skillet
    2. Add onions, garlic, celery, carrots, mushrooms, salt, and oregano

214
215

    1. Cook for 10 minutes until vegetables are soft
    2. Add tomato paste
    3. Cook for 8 minutes until mixture turns a brick red color
    4. Add beef, broth, Worcestershire, and black pepper

219

    1. Cook for 3 more minutes to combine
    2. Place in a casserole or dutch oven

221

    1. Cover with mashed potatoes leaving a 1/4 inch space around the edge.
    2. Dot the tops of potatoes with butter

223

  1. Bake for 40 minutes
  2. Let cool for 10 minutes before eating.

224

 

Bon Appétit and Happy New Year 

From

Dianna, Alex, Mamasita, and Zoey.

Leave a Reply

