Posted in Desserts, Recipes

Mousse au Citron

IMG_1777

My first attempt at Lemon Mousse.  Many lessons in patience has been learned.

IMG_1751

I learned that zesting four lemons is hard work, but smells wonderful.

IMG_1754

I learned that juicing those same four lemons finds every tiny cut on your hands and makes them sting.

IMG_1755

I learned what eight eggs look like.

IMG_1757

IMG_1758 IMG_1761

IMG_1762 IMG_1763

IMG_1764 IMG_1765

I learned that standing at the stove stirring this lovingly is one of the best things to do.  It smells wonderful and gets thicker and thicker.

IMG_1769 IMG_1771

I learned that I need to read recipes more carefully.  Though that is a lesson I learn every time I follow a recipe.

IMG_1772

I learned that the lemon curd needs to be fully chilled before folding in the whipped egg whites.  So that the whole thing doesn’t smell like cooked eggs.

IMG_1774

I learned that I need to try this recipe again so that it actually firms up or so I hope.  But it tastes wonderful.  It’s just a little watery.  Maybe it’ll be good on some vanilla ice cream.

Recipe Link

Leave a Reply

