Posted in bébé, Life, Mental Health

Instagram (Facebook) world

#happybabywrap

A post shared by Polka Dots and Pastries (@polkadotsandpastries) on

Welcome to a world where everyone shares everything.  And by everything I mean small snippets of their lives that they deem worthy and acceptable to share.   I try to be open and honest with myself.  Especially, now, with a young child.  I know that I am not perfect.  I know that I am not the best, brightest, most beautiful.  I see my flaws (probably more than I should), but who could tell that based on just Instagram?  Social media sometimes makes life harder than it needs to be.  We still need to connect with each other in real life.

The Z girls catching some zzzs in the late afternoon sunshine.

A post shared by Polka Dots and Pastries (@polkadotsandpastries) on

Many years ago before Facebook and all this I had a co-worker of mine tell me that she always knew when I was upset.  I asked her how?  She told me that I get quiet when something is bothering me.  I didn’t even realize this myself and really no one else has ever made this very astute observation.  These past four years in Oregon have been a very quiet time for me.  It’s past time I start making some noise.

Thinking about this now I realize it is probably something that I developed as a child.  Something to help keep me safe in the unstable house I grew up.  There was lots of yelling and name calling in my house.  I would hide under my bed for hours until I became too big to fit nicely.  To this day I hate yelling.  I cannot bear to be around people who are yelling or arguing.  The rational side of my brain says that arguing is alright, but the side of my brain that is a little girl just wants to hide.

Trying out the Moby again.

A post shared by Polka Dots and Pastries (@polkadotsandpastries) on

Confrontation makes me super uncomfortable and  it is something I need to work on.  I need to learn how to stand up for myself and those I care about.  I want to be a warrior instead of a worrier.  I just don’t know how to get from point A to point B.  Especially when my whole life when I’ve wanted something for myself I’ve been told that I’m selfish.  How, do I make a leap of faith when my self-esteem is so low that jokes knock the wind out of my sails?  I need to figure this all out especially since I’m a role mode for my sweet bébé. I want her to be fearless.  I want her be able to do the things she wants and not worry if I’ll be there to catch her.  I want her to stand up for herself and others.

Super excited about making a cake for the first time since bebe was born.

A post shared by Polka Dots and Pastries (@polkadotsandpastries) on

In order for this to happen I need to work on myself.  Tuesday, I begin therapy again.  I’m hopeful that I’ll be able to make some progress.  First step is to eliminate this crippling anxiety that makes me question everything.  I know that there is no quick fix and that I’ll revisit my issues again and again throughout my life, but that is another good example for bébé.  She will grow up knowing that when you need help it’s okay.  Everyone needs help from time to time.  I also want her to always feel loved.  I’ve had many moments in my life where I did not felt loved, or wanted, or cared for.

Okay, enough rambling for today.  This sleep deprived mama needs some dinner.

#happybabywrap

A post shared by Polka Dots and Pastries (@polkadotsandpastries) on

One thought on “Instagram (Facebook) world

Leave a Reply

